Posts

Showing posts from 2020

Blog tour: The Heretic Doms Club

Image
One Man's Trash The Heretic Doms Club Book 1  by Marie Sexton  Genre: M/M BDSM Romance 

After four tours in Afghanistan, Warren Groves couldn’t settle into civilian life. For the last twelve years, he’s survived by working odd and often illegal jobs for some of Denver’s less fortunate. His personal life is equally unsatisfactory. He can barely remember the last time he had sex, let alone the last time he got to use somebody hard and rough, the way he likes. Fate intervenes when a favor for a friend leads him to a pretty young rentboy named Taylor Reynolds.
Taylor’s spent the last few years on his own, working as a hustler, going home with anybody who’ll give him a warm meal and a place to sleep. He enjoys having a bit of force used against him, and he makes Warren an offer he can’t refuse — all the sex he wants, as rough and dirty as he likes, in exchange for room and board.
At first, Warren thinks he’s struck gold. Taylor’s the perfect roommate — he cooks, he cleans, and he’s dyn…

One Man's Trash

Image
One Man's Trash by Marie Sexton 5 out of 5

Synopsis
After four tours in Afghanistan, Warren Groves couldn't settle into civilian life. For the last twelve years, he's survived by working odd and often illegal jobs for some of Denver's less fortunate. His personal life is equally unsatisfactory. He can barely remember the last time he had sex, let alone the last time he got to use somebody hard and rough, the way he likes. Fate intervenes when a favor for a friend leads him to a pretty young rentboy named Taylor Reynolds.

Taylor's spent the last few years on his own, working as a hustler, going home with anybody who'll give him a warm meal and a place to sleep. He enjoys having a bit of force used against him, and he makes Warren an offer he can't refuse - all the sex he wants, as rough and dirty as he likes, in exchange for room and board.

At first, Warren thinks he's struck gold. Taylor's the perfect roommate - he cooks, he cleans, and he's dyn…

Flow

Image
Flow by Clare Littlemore 5 out of 5

Synopsis
A world in tatters. A society where rebellion is not tolerated. A girl desperate to discover the truth.

Sixteen year old Quin lives in The Beck, a saviour society. Her community has risen from the ruins of a land shattered by Mother Nature. But Beck law is tough. Quin knows that the rules must be followed in order to sustain life in a place where floodwaters constantly threaten existence. A single violation could land her in Clearance.

But some laws are harder to follow than others. And as Quin discovers the horrifying truth, she knows she cannot stay silent forever.

Flow is the first in a series of books about a group of people struggling to survive after their world has been annihilated by devastating floods.

Blog tour: The Flow Series

Image
Flow The Flow Series Book 1  by Clare Littlemore  Genre: YA Dystopian Fiction 

A flooded future. A relationship torn apart.
When 16-year old Quin's best friend Harper fails The Beck's assessment, will she ever see her again?
Regular appraisals are part of life in The Beck, a walled-in community constantly threatened by floodwaters. But when the shocking results of the most recent test are revealed, Quin knows her world is about to change forever.
Wrenched from Agric, where she has lived and worked for years, Quin finds herself thrown into the unfamiliar Patrol Sector. Yearning for her lost friend, struggling to adjust to her new surroundings, she begins to question the society she thought she knew.
And then she meets the mysterious Cam, who seems willing to break the rules for her. Determined to find Harper, Quin enlists his help. But when she discovers the horrifying truth, it might just destroy her.
If you devour fast-paced, addictive stories with compelling characters who inh…

Blog tour: Empire's Hostage

Image
Empire’s Hostage For fifteen months, the Empire and the northern people have been at war, but a truce is finally at hand. As part of this treaty, Lena, now a Guardswoman on the Wall, is asked to stand as a hostage, to go north to live and learn among the people of Linrathe. But not everyone there will welcome her.
As Lena learns more of the history of both her land and the north, a new threat emerges, one that will test her loyalty to its limits, and in the end, demand a price she could not have envisioned.

Purchase Link
https://storyoriginapp.com/universalbooklinks/70c2d12498f811e9a22b0fa7c9705e88

~Review~
Author Bio
Not content with two careers as a research scientist and an educator, Marian L Thorpe decided to go back to what she’d always wanted to do and be a writer. Author of the alternative world medieval trilogy Empire’s Legacy, Marian also has published short stories and poetry. Her life-long interest in Roman and post-Roman European history informs her novels, while her avocatio…

Empire's Hostage

Image
Empire's Hostage by Marian L. Thorpe 3 out of 5

Synopsis
In the second book in the Empire's Legacy series, The Empire and the northern people have been at war for over a year, but a truce is finally at hand. As part of this treaty, Lena, now a Guardswoman on the Wall, is asked to stand as hostage, to go north to live and learn among the people of Linrathe. But not everyone there will welcome her.

As Lena learns more of the history of both her land and the north, a new threat emerges, one that will test her loyalty to its limits, and in the end, demand a price she could not have envisioned.

Blog tour: The Wall Series

Image
Expendables The Wall Series Book 1  by Alison Ingleby  Genre: YA Dystopian 

One girl. A corrupt government. A secret that could shatter a country. 
★★★★★ “I haven’t been this hooked on a dystopian series since The Hunger Games and Divergent.” 
What would you sacrifice to discover the truth? 
For twelve years, Aleesha has survived as an illegal citizen in poverty-stricken Area Four. She lives by one rule – trust no one. 
When her illegal status is discovered, Aleesha is forced to join a mysterious organisation intent on taking down the corrupt government. Then she’s introduced to Trey, an Insider who’s been brought up with everything she longs for: wealth, privilege, education. 
An Insider who, like her, is being hunted by the government’s sinister militia. 
Aleesha wants to hate him. But Trey may be the only person who can help her find her father – the man who could be her ticket out of poverty. If she can learn to trust him. 
But discovering the truth comes at a terrible price. And …

Expendables

Image
Expendables by Alison Ingleby 5 out of 5

Synopsis
Two societies.
A London divided.
A history lost.

Aleesha is an Outsider. If the government find her they'll kill her. She survives each day by looking out for herself. And trusting no one.

Trey is an Insider. He never knew what the Outside was like until he finds himself hunted by his own people for an unknown crime he didn't commit.

Drawn together by forces outside of their control, Aleesha and Trey must learn to work together. It's not just their lives that are at stake. It's their country's future.

Set in a disturbingly realistic vision of a future London, this fast-paced dystopian thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

Blog tour: Lilian and the Irresistible Duke

Image
Lilian and the Irresistible Duke
A reunion in Rome…Sparks an affair to remember!

Responsible widow Lilian Fairclough is persuaded to travel to Rome for a hard-earned break and to let down her hair! She’s surprised to be reunited with passionate, cynical Italian duke, Pietro Venturi. He reawakens her sensual side and intrigues her with glimpses of pain beneath his rakish surface. Enticed into a secret and temporary affair – what will happen once she returns home?

~Review~
Purchase Link
http://getbook.at/lilianandtheduke

Author Bio
When Virginia Heath was a little girl it took her ages to fall asleep, so she made up stories in her head
to help pass the time while she was staring at the ceiling. As she got older, the stories became more complicated, sometimes taking weeks to get to the happy ending. Then one day, she decided to embrace the insomnia and start writing them down. Despite that, it still takes her forever to fall asleep.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/virgin…

Lilian and the Irresistible Duke

Image
Lilian and the Irresistible Duke 4 out of 5Synopsis
A reunion in Rome…

Sparks an affair to remember!

Part of Secrets of a Victorian Household. Responsible widow Lilian Fairclough is persuaded to travel to Rome for a hard-earned break and to let down her hair! She’s surprised to be reunited with passionate, cynical Italian duke Pietro Venturi. He reawakens her sensual side and intrigues her with glimpses of pain beneath his rakish surface. Enticed into a secret and temporary affair, what will happen once she returns home?

Review
After a lifetime of commitments to her family, Lilian is finally free to follow her heart. And a handsome Italian Duke might just be the answer.

I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
This is the first book in the Victorian Household series that I've read. Despite there being 3 other books before it, this story worked well as a stand-alone.

Now that her children are all grown and married, with babies on the way, and careers in place; the family …

Blog tour: A Crown in Time

Image
A Crown in Time
In the far future, a convicted criminal is given a chance at redemption. 

Her mission? To save the crown of France by convincing a young noble not to join the ill-fated Eighth Crusade.

But nothing goes as planned, and Isobel finds herself accompanying a hot-headed youth on his way to fight the infidel in Tunis: a battle Isobel knows is fated to be lost.

From the rainy villages of medieval France, to the scorching desert of Tunis - Isobel faces her destiny and tries to fulfil her duty, knowing she can never return to her time, knowing that a wrong move can doom the future, or doom her to be burned as a witch.


~Review~
Purchase Links 

https://www.waterstones.com/book/a-crown-in-time/jennifer-macaire//9781786157768

Amazon UK:  https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07ZF4QWNP

Amazon.com: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07ZF4QWNP

 Amazon.com.au  - https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B07ZF4QWNP

Author Bio

Jennifer Macaire is an American living in France. She likes to read, eat chocolate, and plays …

A Crown in Time

Image
A Crown in Time by Jennifer Macaire 3.5 out of 5

Synopsis
Since it was perfected in 2900, time travel has been reserved for an elite, highly trained few. However, on certain occasions, a Corrector is needed to rectify a mistake in the past.

Do your job well, and you'll go down in history. Fail, and you will be erased from Time . . .

In the far future, a convicted criminal is given a chance at redemption. The Corrector Program at Tempus University is sending Isobel back in time, to the year 1270, to rewrite history.
Her mission? To save the crown of France.
If she follows the Corrector's Handbook everything should run smoothly. But soon, Isobel finds herself accompanying a hot-headed young noble on his way to fight the infidel in Tunis: a battle Isobel knows is fated to be lost.
Isobel must fulfil her duty, knowing she can never return to her time, knowing one wrong move can doom the future, or doom her to be burned as a witch . . .

The first in an exciting new time-slip series…